Government Still Looking for Jakarta´s Replacement

Friday, 14 July 2017 , 09:00:00 WIB - Politics

Jakartans are seen vacationing at the Fatahillah Musemum, Jakarta, Thursday (29/6). (ANTARA)

JAKARTA, GRES.NEWS – President Joko Widodo’s cabinet will continue their study on cities that can replace Jakarta as the capital city, despite some challenges. In the Draft Revised State Budget 2017, the government has proposed Rp7 billion (US$524423.2) for the National Development Planning Agency (Bappenas) to conduct a quick study on the potential cities.

The study will focus on cities outside Java Island with the aim of spreading the national economy better. Jakarta has been very dominant in contributing to Indonesia’s economy.

Bappenas head Bambang Brodjonegoro explained that Jakarta contributes 18 percent to the national gross domestic product (GDP) and from the top 10 largest cities, five are Jakarta, Bogor, Depok, Tangerang and Bekasi, known as the Jabodetabek region. This fact indicates imbalance.

Jakarta has a population of 10.2 million, followed by Surabaya, 2.8 million; Bandung, 2.5 million; Bekasi, 2.38 million; Medan, 2.2 million; Depok, 2.1 million; Tangerang, 2.047 million; Semarang, 1.6 million; Palembang, 1.58 million and Tangerang Selatan, 1.5 million. "Therefore, there is a huge accummulation of economic activities in Jakarta," Bambang said, Jakarta, Tuesday (11/7).

Bekasi, Tangerang, Depok and Tangerang Selatan are not independent cities. They are buffer cities that depend their economy on Jakarta.

"In the aspect of city development strategy, there is a huge imbalance. Jakarta contributes 18 percent to Indonesia’s GDP. The Jabodetabek region contributes 25 percent. Hence, a quarter of Indonesia’s economy depends on Jakarta and vicinity cities. Some may think this is normal. But if we look in the long term, Jakarta and its surrounding cities, with their problems, will not be drivers of the economy and will be barricades instead," Bambang further stated.

The cities being considered are in Central Kalimantan, South Kalimantan and East Kalimantan. (dtc)